It’s Been HOT!!

The last two weeks have been so HOT around here that I have been spending a lot of time out of the house lately. We do not have A/C and this kind of heat makes me too lethargic to do much of anything other than find somewhere that has A/C. It has even been too hot for me to sit at my computer and blog!

So here is a little snapshot of what we have been up to.

My 3 and 4 year olds had a morning summer camp the week before last, and a couple of days were “dress-up” days. So of course they wanted to put a lot of effort into their costumes which took us some time in the afternoons and before camp to do. One day was Clown/Circus day…

DSC01700 DSC01701

Another day was Space day…

DSC01703

The robot costume that my 4yo came up with was quite elaborate and took a whole afternoon of crafting to put it together.

Last week we visited The Museum in Kitchener to get out of the heat. They have a lot of children’s activities on right now and we all had a fantastic time!

DSC01706We spent about 40mins in this room making a ball run. Again my 4yo came up with quite an elaborate track for the ball, all by himself! Very impressive!

DSC01711 DSC01712The boys each had a turn laying on the bed of nails.

And then they built some great creations while my 7 month old slept.

DSC01714 DSC01721 DSC01715

They had a blast at the Museum and of course asked to go back the very next day. We may just have to head back there before the summer ends!

My boys made some crafts independently…

DSC01738DSC01734

DSC01739DSC01742Then I decided we should actually make something fun all together. I found a recipe that did not need baking. I didn’t want to turn my oven on and make our house hotter than it already was, so we made these No Bake Energy Bites.

The boys got out all the ingredients and I let the boys take the lead. I read the instructions to them,  they found the ingredients, measured and mixed.

I let them be in control and even decide what extra ingredients we added and how much.

DSC01746 DSC01749

DSC01751The rolling of the dough into round bite sized balls proved very difficult for my 3yo and he decided he didn’t want to help with that, and my 4yo got tired of rolling so I took over and rolled the rest of them.

The Energy Bites ended up tasting great!

DSC01764

All in all it has been a hot two weeks and now that the weather is turning and not so humid anymore, I think I will manage to get beck to creating and playing at home with my kids. Thus, will be able to blog more again.

Happy playing!

Leave a Reply

